The Non-Executive Director Awards open trading

The Non-Executive Director Awards open trading

Thursday 10th October 2013

The Non-Executive Director Awards were established in 2006, by Peel Hunt in collaboration with The Sunday Times, to recognise those NEDs who have made a real contribution to the business and not-for-profit sectors and whose commitment and achievements have helped organisations develop and grow. There are six categories within the awards: FTSE 100; Not-For-Profit / Public Service; Quoted – AIM; Quoted – Official List; Unquoted / Private Equity Backed; and, Lifetime Achievement Award

The shortlist of nominees for each Award category is determined by an open nominations process, with nominations from across the business and financial community. The winner of each category is then chosen by an eminent panel of judges who come from a variety of sectors, including the Not-For-Profit sector. The awards are currently chaired by Sir Roger Carr, Chairman of Centrica, and previous chairs have included Baroness Hogg and Sir John Parker

Nominations for the 2014 NED Awards, the eight edition, open on 10 October 2013 and close on 24 November 2013, with the results being announced on 3 April 2014

Sir Roger Carr, Chairman of the Judging Panel, comments:

“Non-Executive Directors play a critical role in the performance and reputation of any company or major organisation. Their responsibilities have grown in recent years – the role is increasingly more visible, their responsibilities more demanding and their judgement more valuable in delivering sound governance, constructive support and appropriate challenge. These Awards recognise the high calibre of Non-Executive Directors in the UK, who have made a real contribution to the success of their businesses and organisations.”

Steven Fine, Managing Partner of Peel Hunt LLP, comments:

“These awards are now in their eighth year and are seen as the benchmark Awards for recognition of both the collective importance of the Non-Executive Director and of individual success. Since the establishment of the Awards in 2006, the importance of effective Non-Executive Directors has grown considerably and can be the difference between long-term success and failure. We celebrate the achievements of past winners of the Awards and look forward to the opening of the nomination process to select the next winners.”